Some people believe that the age limit for the drivers should be increased to ensure road safety. To what extent do you agree or disagree.

It is trusted by many individuals that the minimum legal age for the drivers should be enhanced so as to mitigate the road accidents. I partially agree with this statement because apart from increasing age limit, there are other methods which can ensure safety on the roads. This essay will discuss various reasons behind this viewpoint.

The first viewpoint is that raising the age of drivers will help in regulating those youngsters who are immature and have less skills of driving. These teenagers drive harsh and carelessly without considering other vehicles on the road. However, older people are more experienced and drive smoothly. For example, statistics of the police department of a developed country reported that 75% of the accidents happened due to carelessness of the driver.

On the flip side, besides increasing age, there are other ways to ensure road safety. Firstly, license, permit rules should be made strict enough so as to make difficult to gain it. This should be given by qualifying all other factors such as experience, age, knowledge of handling problems arising at unusual times. Secondly, traffic rules should be tougher and huge fines and penalties should be applicable to the person violating such regulations. These are some methods which can help in road safety.

To recapitulate, though the proliferation of minimum age for driving is effective to some extent, but other alternatives such as strict traffic rules and license permit rules should also be considered. This helps in reducing the number of accidents on the road and will also help in the development of the nation.