Some people believe that the age limit for the drivers should be increased to ensure road safety. To what extent do you agree or disagree.

Many individuals trust that the minimum legal age for drivers should be enhanced to mitigate road accidents. I partially agree with this statement because apart from increasing the age limit, other methods can ensure safety on the roads. This essay will discuss various reasons behind this viewpoint.

The first viewpoint is that raising the age of drivers will help in regulating those youngsters who are immature and have fewer skills of driving. These teenagers drive harshly and carelessly without considering other vehicles on the road. However, older people are more experienced and drive smoothly. For example, statistics from the police department of a developed country reported that 75% of accidents happened due to the carelessness of the driver.

On the flip side, besides increasing age, there are other ways to ensure road safety. Firstly, license, and permit rules should be made strict enough to make it difficult to gain it. This should be given by qualifying all other factors such as experience, age, and knowledge of handling problems arising at unusual times. Secondly, traffic rules should be tougher, and huge fines and penalties should apply to the person violating such regulations. These are some methods which can help in road safety.

To recapitulate, though the proliferation of the minimum age for driving is effective to some extent, other alternatives such as strict traffic rules and license permit rules should also be considered. This helps reduce the number of accidents on the road and will also help the nation’s development.