Some people believe that the best way of learning about life is by listening to the advice of family and friends. Other people believe that the best way of learning about life is through personal experience. Compare the advantages of these two different ways of learning about life. Which do you think is preferable? Use specific examples to support your preference.

Many people are convinced that the most effective way of learning about life is listening to the recommendations of other people around you, on the other hand,there are individuals who think that experiencing and finding out about life yourself is a better way. I firmly agree with the latter sentiment, as I believe that going through events personally is an incredible technique of gaining an understanding of life.

There are many undeniably beneficial reasons of why people agree with the former statement. One of them is that individuals rely on their family members , hence they always seek out advice from their parents, siblings, even grandparents. It is understandable, if the other family members have a lot of experiences in life. Moreover, when people listen to someone else’s stories they start realising that person’s flaws, therefore, they tend to not do the same or similar mistakes. For instance, if a high schooler gets advice from someone that has already graduated school successfully, they get to have an increased chance of achieving better grades.

However, I totally reckon that the most helpful way of obtaining a better understanding of how life works is to learn from your own mistakes. Learning about life through personal experiences has a greater impact on individuals compared to hearing others talk about theirs. Additionally,hardships are what shape us as who we are, in simpler words, they build our characters and help us grow as a person. For example, a three-year-old will not believe it when they get warned by their parents that something can hurt them, until they try it out and learn their lesson.

In conclusion, although the role of parents and friends is quite crucial in one’s life, from my point of view, solving out how to deal with things by personal knowledge is the most optimal way.