With the rise of virtual reality, some believe it will eventually replace real-world travel experiences. To what extent do you agree or disagree? What are the potential benefits and drawbacks of this shift?

There is a view that the increase of virtual reality is likely to damage the reputation of physical traveling. Although virtual reality offers affordable and convenient alternatives, I believe its inability to recreate authentic cultural experiences and educational impact mean that the disadvantages outweigh the advantages.

Virtual reality provides several notable benefits, particularly in terms of accessibility and convenience. One noticable advantage of this is that it can be used at considerably lower costs unlike the price of flights and other expenses – hotels, visas, insurance and food – needed to a basic trip. This means that many youths who love traveling though live with limited budgets can explore famous sightseeings such as The Louvre or The British museum without flying to either Paris or Britain. Furthermore, the convenience of virtual reality means that locals, especially in European countries would better enjoy their daily lives without tourist flows in particular seasons.

Speaking of Europe which welcomes over 750 million international tourists annually, local people usually suffer from overcrowding in the vicinity of their houses as everyone is keen to visit not only famous tourist attractions but also a city itself.

Nevertheless, these benefits are outweighed by the limitations of virtual travel. As much as this development appeals to many, it cannot be superior to genuine cultural experiences – interactions with locals, trying local cuisine, the weather and atmosphere – since human beings value personal experiences over the technological ones. For instance, just watching the Eiffel Tower in VR is totally different from walking around Paris, talking to locals, and tasting French cuisine. In addition, as people visit various countries, learn about their traditions or compare different cultures and food, they can widely broaden their horizons and improve their overall knowledge. Many countries offer a wide range of culinary lessons or some guided tours which make the experience highly immersive and educational.

In conclusion, the experience and pros of going on trips outweigh those of virtual reality in terms of authentic and educational values.