You should spend about 40 minutes on this task. Write at least 250 words. In many major cities around the world, traffic congestion has become a severe problem, causing long commute times and high levels of air pollution. What are the main causes of this issue, and what measures can governments and individuals take to solve it?

In recent years, the issue of traffic congestion has become significantly more common worldwide. It becomes an everyday stress for citizens of many major cities through extensive commute times and increased levels of air pollution. In this essay, we aim to discuss the major causes and potential solutions to this problem.

To begin with, statistically, the population of major cities around the world has increased by 30% compared to 2021. More people strive for careers in business, economics, and law, which all require employees to be present at the office around the same time. The rush hours, one of the main causes of the traffic jams, create especially high congestion levels in the morning and in the evening. For instance, the most common working hours are 8:00 am to 5:00 pm, complementing 7:30 am and 5:30 pm peak traffic hours. This often leads to higher stress and frustration levels in employees and results in an increased frequency of car accidents. Another important factor to consider is weather conditions. An unexpected change of weather could result in longer commute times and higher traffic even outside the earlier-mentioned rush hours. For example, severe thunderstorms in the summer, hurricanes during autumn, and snowstorms in the winter all could impact the quality of the commute around cities.

To elaborate on this topic, it is important to address the solutions to such important matters.There are multiple ways in which citizens can contribute to lowering both traffic congestion and air pollution levels. For example, more people strive to use a bicycle instead of a car. It is not only good for one’s physical health but also saves a lot of time. In addition, switching from a car to a more economical option is a beneficial decision for saving money. However, it is important to mention that the government should support this idea by creating more bicycle-designated roads in the major cities. Moreover, the government should encourage people to use public transport by creating special benefits, such as lowering the pass price during working hours, or creating conditions for using eco-friendly transportation options.

To conclude, there are many reasons that play an important role in creating higher traffic congestion and levels of air pollution in busy districts of major cities. It is important to assess those issues and aim to solve this leading cause of stress. Both citizens and the government could positively impact the ongoing traffic hustle by implementing new changes in both individual and public lifestyles.