Some people believe that the best way to improve public health is by increasing the number of sports facilities. Others think that this has little effects and other measures are required. Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

Many people argue that increasing fitness centers is crucial for public health while others state that this approach is insufficient and supplementary methods are imperative for which I fully advocate.

On the one hand, admittedly, expanding sports establishments effectively supports physical well-being. Firstly, exercise at such facilities leads to losing weight. For instance, Japanese people tend to lead sedentary lifestyles due to the advent of technological devices, easily gaining weight, thereby harming their fitness. Thus, increasing fitness centers provides more opportunities for physical activities, which helps people keep in shape. Additionally, it is beneficial for psychological aspects. Some experts suggest that in Korea, where the number of sports facilities across the city increased about tenfold since 2000, the expanded visibility of facilities has encouraged citizens of Korea become more health-conscious than before.

However, despite its effect, I believe that it is important to introduce complementary approaches. One prominent reason is that dietary habits are vital for fitness as meals full of carbohydrates and fat result in severe health issues like obesity. A recent study revealed that American people who profoundly understand the significant of well-balanced meals and apply them into their lives can live 5 years longer than those who solely rely on doing sports to promote their health on average. Additionally, another factor is the high rate of gym membership withdrawal. Some research shows that around 30% of new gym members cancel their memberships within 6 months due to lost interest in Canada. These examples illustrate that merely increasing sports centers does not guarantee public health and alternatives are necessary, such as food education.

In conclusion, while increasing recreation centers benefits community health, I am convinced that the importance of appropriate nutritional habits and the challenges of exercise continuity suggest that other interventions like dietary education are essential.