Some people believe that the development of technology, especially communication via computers and mobile phones, has a negative effect on people's reading and writing skills. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

It is believed that nowadays a significant rise in the use of computer and mobile phones for communication directly disadvantages adolescents, particularly in a lack of reading and writing skills. In my perspective, it offers several advantages. However, my reasoning will be discussed in the following paragraphs.

On the one hand, people believe that communication through computers and phones directly negatively affects the younger generation, contributing to a sense of lazy behavior in learning new abilities. In more detail, various short videos released on social media platforms bring about deficit disorder in adolescents and a lack of ability to concentrate on reading or writing significantly. For example, a wide range of young people in college rapidly rely on autocorrecting words and ChatGPT for generating reports and refining their grammar without reviewing or trying to understand.

On the other hand, in my view, there are several beneficial and positive aspects of the increasing use of modern gadgets of for communication. First and foremost, progressive technology and the internet provide a variety of resources for studying new languages, synonyms, and vocabulary across websites. For instance, e-books and vocabulary online quizzes. Moreover, communication and interaction with foreigners around the world through social media platforms such as Snapchat, Instagram, and Line applications also encourage the opportunity of improving teenagers’ capabilities, especially reading and writing skills. One clear example research from University of Manchester in 2022, illustrated that more than 80 percent of their total students enhanced academic skills by utilizing resources available on the internet.

In conclusion, in my perspective, I strongly disagree with the argument, owing to the fact that utilizing electronics considerably fosters the younger generation’s skills of reading and writing.