Some people believe that the government should not spend money on international aid when they have their own disadvantaged people the homeless and unemployed. To what extent do you agree or disagree.

There is a view that countries facing social problems like homelessness and unemployment should stop allocating money to international aid. While some people support this proposal, I strongly oppose it.

On one hand, spending taxpayers’ money on foreign aid may seem unfair to the local population. In many countries, even in the developed ones, people usually complain about the lack of adequate medical care, affordable housing, and quality education. When countries direct funds to help other nations which experience similar issues, disregarding their own problems, this naturally leads to public discontent. The USA, for instance, has sent billions to both Ukraine and Israel while unemployment and homelessness rates are at all-time high in the country, leading to overwhelmingly negative public reaction.

Despite this, governments should continue aiding other countries in need. Firstly, foreign aid can provide much-needed resources and support to countries that are experiencing social, political, and economic instability. It can help to build infrastructure, provide education and healthcare, and offer emergency relief in times of crises. Last year’s natural disasters in Turkey can be a good case in point. After a series of earthquakes, thousands of people were displaced and injured. With emergency supplies and medical assistance facilitated by international aid, the country rapidly regained stability.

On a broader level, countries assisting each other can help strengthen international relationships. A strong sense of partnership between countries allows for better cooperation in various spheres such as education and research, technology and innovation, as well as cultural exchange.

In conclusion, public concern over the government’s disregard to domestic issues is justifiable. However, this does not mean that countries should stop helping other countries in need. Struggling countries are dependent on foreign aid, and such assistance can also lead to increased collaboration between countries, resulting in improvement in other sectors.