Some people believe that the government should spend more money putting in more works of art like paintings and statues in cities to make them better places to live in. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

In contemporary times, a number of individuals are of the opinion that the authorities should allocate more finance to arts like paintings and alerting statues in town in order to make it conducive for residents to live. I disagree with the view due to the fact that infrastructure and health centre are of more essential than beautifying of environment.

To begin with, although paintings and statues help in beautification of the surroundings and keeping memories of ancient leaders, which does not warranty spending more money on them. A vast number of the cities are being decorated with arts work which attract more tourists to the state, thereby creating source of revenue to the state. For instance, in Southern Nigeria, students from various universities due visit the region during excursion because of the paintings and statues along streets of the area, which resulted in them using it as a source of knowledge towards the history of the nation.

However, due to important of health care and social amenities to the citizens of the state, I am of the view that more finance should be shifted to development of the urban area and providing adequate health care to the people of the district. Construction of roads help in easy movement of the citizens and also fast transportation of locally manufactured products to other states, which will result to decline in traffic congestion and exportation of goods. To illustrate, in western world with adequate hospitals and social amenities, their citizens have less worry about their health and reduction in poverty.

In conclusion, although art works help in attracting tourists to the urban area and beautification of the environment. I disagree that more money should be spent on art but should be allocated to infrastructure and healthcare systems of the nation.