Some people believe that the government should support artists like musicians, painters, and poets, while others argue that this is a misuse of finds. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

Every year, the government makes a financial budget and divides the funds to each sector in order of importance to the public. Some people find it necessary to support artists like musicians, painters and poets, while others consider it a waste of government funds.

People in opposition believe that the government should be focused on improving the basic living standards, which are not available equally to all sections of society. Upgrading facilities like healthcare, sanitation, housing, public transportation and education, are key areas of importance to the public. The government must consider the poor working conditions of people in these sectors and work on facilitating them, as recently there has been an increase in the number of doctors and engineers moving to another country in search of better work opportunities and infrastructure.

Alternatively, the other side considers supporting artists of utter importance, as it will not only uplift all sections of society but will also suppress resentment in the hearts of some, creating inclusivity amongst society. Considering that music, literature and theatre are a source of entertainment that every person needs after a hectic day at work, public funding in these areas can help cheer up the population. With proper funds, these artists can compete in competitions on a global scale to represent their country internationally, which can also be seen as improving relations with other nations. Artists can also attract tourists with the same interests, which in return contributes to the economy.

In conclusion, I reckon that the first and foremost aim of the government should be investing more funds in upgrading the basic public facilities that can be available to all. However, the importance of uplifting artists should also not be neglected.