Some people believe that the increasing use of computers and mobile phones for communication is having a negative impact on the reading and writing skills of young people. Do you agree or disagree?

: Some think that the increasing usage of desktops and mobile gadgets for interactions has negatively impacted the youth’s ability to read and write. From my point of view, I completely agree with this point since technological devices have made the youth become reliant on acronyms rather than standardize language along with their attention span shortening due to addictive social media platforms. The following essay will explain my perspective.

The first point of my agreement is that the younger generation became more tolerant of typing errors and compromise by using acronyms, therefore worsening their ability to write words with accuracy. This is because while texting, it is extremely common for the younger generation to look over grammatical and spelling inaccuracies, overtime, the wrong format becomes the new norm for these people. For example, in the English language, alot of users tend to mistype ” they are” with “their”, because of these minor mistakes, people often never seem to correct them but think of them as typos, not knowing that they are enabling a bad habit. Ultimately, the one who was wrong never realised how they could have improved.

A further explanation for my agreement is there is no denying that those mobile gadgets are addictive. Nowadays, phones and computers are inseparable to the immature because these gadgets provide a feeling of satisfaction when in use and just a single vibration of the phone’s notification and immediately catches their user attention which would affect the user attention span while reading. Consequently, negatively impact their reading skills.

In conclusion, the non-stop rising usage of technological devices will heavily impact one’s ability to read and write. I believe that we as the user should be more mindful of our screentime to utilise these gadgets to the fullest while minimizing its drawbacks.