Some people believe that the increasing use of computers and mobile phones for communication is having a negative impact on the reading and writing skills of young people. Do you agree or disagree?

These days, the younger generation tends to use digital devices, which can negatively affect their writing and reading abilities. Although there are several downs, I strongly believe that it can be also beneficial for their studies.

One major drawback of digital communication is lack of concentration and short memory. Ninety nine percent of adults waste their time by surfing the Internet, such as on Instagram or TikTok, especially watching reels and stories. Namely, I also really like spending time on Instagram. I often find that time flies when I scroll through Instagram reels. As a consequence, I have faced difficulties with concentration and memorization. Many teenagers my age, including myself, struggle with the same issue due to phone use.

On the other hand, rapidly increasing technology also has positive sides. Most of us are attached to use e-books because of its convenience. Students easily can find every kind of books fastly. In addition, using these books more cheaper than printed books. Moreover, there are a number of apps and sites for improving grammar knowledge and expand vocabulary. For instance, our teacher made a recommendation to use AnkiPro app. I have been using this app since that time to build a richer vocabulary.

In conclusion, although using digital technology causes a number of problems, I strongly believe that if people manage their time on telephones, it can be useful for their study adventure.