Some people believe that the increasing use of computers and mobile phones for communication is having a negative impact on the reading and writing skills of young people. Do you agree or disagree?

There is a popular belief that the growing dependence on modern devices for correspondence is jeopardizing the literacy of the young generation. While I certainly acknowledge the perceived risks, I believe that utilizing computers and mobile phones has encouraged the tendency to read and write more, however subtle it may seem.

One primary concern stemming from the excessive usage of technologies for communication is that most young individuals are more likely to spend much of their spare time on chatting online instead of gaining knowledge from physical books. With the rapid emergence of new innovative devices, the young are less inclined to allocate their time for studying, thereby shortening their ­­attention span and making them show little drive for traditional knowledge acquisition. Advanced technologies make it easier to resort to quick dopamine fixes instead of engaging in meaningful activities. Since reading traditional and paper-based books requires undivided focus and critical thinking to absorb information, the allure of online content on technologies, be it video or games, is irresistible and thus can be a source of distraction. The advent of typing is also a cause for concern. People of all ages used to exchange correspondence by handwriting in previous times, and ever since typing has become the norm, the old yet useful skill is in the process of vanishing. Handwriting has been associated with mental sharpness, analytical thinking, problem-solving skills, and order, and its fading significance is troubling, especially for the proponents of this medium.

Despite these given arguments, however, I remain convinced that the increased use of technologies is playing a key role in the growth of reading and writing. In other words, there are numerous advantages of modern advanced devices for communication, with faster accessibility being one of them. As people, youngsters in particular, are becoming highly connected in the online realm, the exchange of knowledge is faster than ever before, making individuals seek, gain, and circulate information and heighten their understanding of the world. This phenomenon makes reading go beyond merely flipping through pages and make its way to the virtual world. Additionally, writing, in the form of typing, is now more accessible everywhere. Gone are the days when only educated people could write, and modern gadgets equipped with keyboards and other special features enable anybody to express themselves in a written format, allowing them to gain knowledge from anywhere in the world. Auto-correct systems, language options, and instant access to the world of information are the benefits computers and smartphones confer to common people, which entice them to write frequently to keep pace with others.

In conclusion, although I realize that there are some decided downsides to over-reliance on technologies, should a person remain literate in a traditional sense, I maintain that the recent development is a positive turn of events overall, considering its profound impact in facilitating the circulation of knowledge and information once beyond ordinary people’s reach.