Some people believe that the main aim of businesses is to make profits, while others argue that they should focus on social responsibility. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

It is argued by some that the essential objective of businesses is to make profits, while others believe that they should concentrate on social responsibility. Although both perspectives have valid arguments, I am of the opinion that businesses should mainly prioritize social responsibility.

On the one hand, numerous individuals start doing business in order to be one of the most prominent corporations in the world. Being famous and generating substantial revenue are the main purposes of these businesses. This can be exemplified by the Apple company, whose products are chosen by many humans. Around 85% of the people worldwide select iPhones as smartphones even though they cost more money than the other alternatives. The company itself do not make any contributions to the needy, and only focuses on more money. However, I am of the idea that there are more important values in the world than money and glory.

On the other hand, it is widely believed that having codes and trying to fit into them are more significant than fame and wealth. Even though child labor is considered one of the strictest issues, there are still several companies who do not hire underaged workers. These corporations strongly disagree with abusing children and earning much more profit from them, and try to eradicate this problem by raising awareness. Although statistics is not as high as expected, it will be addressed more in the future. Moreover, I also think that humane actions can be appreciated by many in the long term.

To conclude, while generating income and trying to be known globally are the most significant goals of several businesses, I believe that with the help of social responsibility they can succeed more in the long run.