Some people believe that the Olympic games are exciting events that bring nations together, while others believe that the Olympic Games are a waste of money and the money should be better spent on other things. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

Many are of the opinion that the Olympic games are meaningful events which can strengthen the bonds among different nations around the world; however, others assume that it is completely financially wasteful to organise such events, as there are better options to spend money on. In order to give an elaborate insight, both points of view will be discussed below via persuasive rationales before giving my own perspective.

On the one hand, the Olympic games can undeniably bring numerous countries together. Specifically, the Olympic games are such a famous sporting event and usually hosted by a country, and competitors from numerous nations have to travel to the host country to compete; additionally, the large number of international visitors and sports fans may be attracted by this event, then travelling to the country. This means that the host can promote their national identity through this event to innumerable people from all over the world, hence boosting national recognition as well as the economy. Moreover, they can popularize their national heritage and culture via social media platforms such as Youtube and Facebook. For example, in 2008, China, which hosted the Olympic games that year, has successfully spread their picturesque scenery of nature and historical buildings on a global scale. All of the mentioned benefits can enhance cross-cultural understanding among different cultures, thus making a connection between them.

On the other hand, the drawback of money misspending is worth mentioning. Particularly, the amount of money allocated to such projects related to the Olympic games as social media campaigns and improving the infrastructure is extremely large, which is why some people strongly oppose this global intercontinental sports event. Instead, they suggest that the expenditure should be used for addressing pressing problems such as poverty, environmental degradation and the like. One typical instance of the resistance to hold this event is that there are only two countries being able to host the Olympic games 2024 as the other nations were financially inadequate to organise this competition.

In conclusion, whereas supporters believe that the Olympic games can help the host countries enhance their recognition and boost cross-cultural understanding through the display of cultures and historical heritage through social media, some oppose this idea due to the financial crisis resulted afterwards and their priority to solve other urgent phenomena. I am convinced that the spending should be used for fixing currently more important challenges rather than organising the Olympic games as it holds more validity in the long run.