Some people believe that the rapid increase in population these days is unsustainable and will eventually lead to a global crisis. Others believe that the world population increase is necessary and beneficial as it creates the growth of the world’s economy and society. Discuss both these views and give your opinion.

The alarming increase in population in contemporary society has brought about distinct opinions regarding whether this practice is unsustainable and will lead to a global crisis or whether it may play a pivotal role in the world’s growth in terms of social and economic aspects. While I may acknowledge the logic behind the latter view, I am still strongly in favor of the former.

On the one hand, proponents of a growing population contributing to global development may ground their cogent arguments in the merit of a sustainable human resource for the labor market and the improved structure of demographic society. Regarding the former, the contexts of urbanization and industrialization call for a plethora of qualified employees at a high frequency, which eases the pressure of labor shortages for companies. As far as the improved structure of demographic society is concerned, when it comes to countries possessing aging populations such as Japan, increasing population is a congenial approach to foster birth rates, thereby balancing demographic structure. However, this solution may lead to a contrasting pattern for nations with young populations.

Conversely, I still assert that overpopulation can result in the faster depletion of natural resources as well as a high homelessness rate. If the number of inhabitants keeps rising, there may be growing needs in accessing non-renewable energies to cater to our daily routines. This is synonymous with the fact that such power will be depleted in the near future, which puts governments under pressure to find appropriate solutions to tackle this problem. Moreover, the relentless growth of homeless people also results from overpopulation. Due to the economic downturn alongside a high standard of living, poor people cannot afford to have accommodations for themselves; therefore, they are forced to live on the pavements of streets which they consider as their houses.

In conclusion, the world’s population should be controlled and intervened upon by proper policies to avoid the aforementioned potential consequences, despite the given minor advantages that a growing population can provide.