Some people believe that the rapid increase in population these days is unsustainable and will eventually lead to a global crisis. Others believe that the world population increase is necessary and beneficial as it creates the growth of the world’s economy and society. Discuss both these views and give your opinion.

In todays world, the sustainability concerns regarding the world population continues to rise due to limited fossil energy reserves owing to researches from the past generations, which believed that the fossil fuels could only last until the end of 21st century. But developments and researches has been showing significant improvements on finding alternative energy uses such as solar energy, fuel cells, geothermal energy, wind energy and even nuclear energy which eventually leads towards better economical stability in the world. In this essay I will articulate why I believe the discussion regarding weather world’s population incline is complicated in terms of sustainability and my assessment inclines towards the latter view.

The world reserves of the energy has been limited for many countries and as the population increases, the energy demands also continues to increase. Most of the countries of the world spend the last century building power plants for using non-renewable energy to produce electricity. As the population increases, this concern for this energy reserves also becomes alarming. Moreover, the lifestyle improvements also demands more electricity consumption equipment such as air-conditioner, electric oven, washing machine etc. Thus, many scholars and environmentalists opens up their concerns regarding the increase in populations.

On contrary, more population translate to more working hands. The technological improvements on alternative energy has been remarkable. Technologies, such as solar photovoltaic system, wind turbines, ground-source heat pumps uses the natural energy available to specific locations. This decreases the reliability of developing countries upon the fossil fuel rich countries. Furthermore, many big companies, such a, Apple, Google, Microsoft etc. already undertook green energy production initiatives. Many artificial intelligence companies, such as Google, Amazon and OpenAI are taking approaches to find new excavation sites for more non-renewable reserves. These combined approaches may solve the limited resources problems which can lead to better world economy. Operation of this jobs and efforts require large employments. In this way, the lifestyle continues to improve without having any energy hinderance.

In conclusion, population of each countries is an asset for them. This increasing population may pose threat to many nations but if the path of developments are well planned then I believe it can bring a stable world economy without compromise in lifestyle and consequently leading to a better society.