Some people believe that there should be fixed punishments for each type of crime. Others, however, argue that the circumstances of an individual crime, and the motivation for committing it, should always be taken into account when deciding on the punishment.

some people hold the idea that everyone should get equal punishment for every type of crime. while others argue that before reaching a final verdict, one should listen to their side of the story. what were the circumstances and motivations that compelled them to commit it? in this essay, I will discuss both views, although I agree with the latter ones.

Fixed punishments bring efficiency to the justice system due to its consistency and clear rules to the legal arrangement. by giving specific sentences to specific crimes, there’s no need for a trial in court, which leads to less amount of money needed to be spent by the lawbreaker. additionally, knowing the penalty in advance may discourage offenders from committing the crimes. for instance, there is a policy of maximum speed on the highway in which irresponsible drivers might race at midnight. if they know the punishment for illegal street racing, they will avoid doing so.

on the other hand, others who prefer considering conditions argue for a fairer justice system. they say that punishment should depend on individual reasons behind each case. murder and accidental killing, for example, are very different situations for which if they get the same punishment it will be highly unfair.

to conclude, both sides have valid points to support their argument. however, I respectfully agree with the second view, as I believe that petty crimes could have the same punishment, such as illegal speeding, graffiti, etc. but serious crimes should be dealt with individually based on criminal perspective.