Some people believe that there should be fixed punishments for each type of crime. Others, however, argue that the circumstances of an individual crime, and the motivation for committing it, should always be taken into account when deciding on the punishment.

It is sometimes argued whether punishments for crimes should be fixed or not. Although adjusted penalties may bring multifaceted benefits, I firmly believe that judging each case and the motivation for breaking the law is of paramount importance.

On the one hand, there are good arguments when having one set sentence for each offense. Firstly, this approach can easily create a fair and clear justice system to deter criminals. As individuals have a deep and precise comprehension of the punishment for each illegal activity, they might be aware of the consequences for not following the law. Therefore, this can serve as a method of intimidation, avoiding further violations. Secondly, arranged sentences can contribute greatly to the reduction of pressure in the ministry of justice. Hence, this will not only lessen the constant stress in the magistrate as every punishment is pointed out in the rule, but also maintain the equality to the society. This is usually applied in minor crimes, for instance pickpocketing, shoplifting and so on.

On the other hand, it is indisputable that circumstances of the crime and a criminal’s motivation should play a certain role in deciding the punishment, particularly in serious cases. The main reason for this is to convey a more humane justice system. The action of stealing can set a good example for this. Although stealing other’s properties is considered unacceptable, there are many purposes associated with this illegal well-being, varying from taking away valuable things to feed the family to stealing for their own benefits. Moreover, fixed punishments are rarely used in complex criminal cases that necessitate extensive investigations. Thus, judges play an important role in this case-by-case method, in which they determine the most appropriate punishment based on the intention and circumstances of the criminal case.

In conclusion, it is undeniable that applying adjusted penalties brings several advantages, such as raising the public’s awareness. I assume that other factors like circumstances or motivation to commit the crimes should also be taken into consideration for equality.