Some people believe that there should be fixed punishments for each type of crime. Others, however, argue that the circumstances of an individual crime, and the motivation for committing it, should always be taken into account when deciding on the punishment.

There are several people convinced that the punishments for each kind of crime should be immutable, while many others believe that the situations and motivation should be included in factors of determining the way of punishing the crime. In the meanwhile, whether the punishments for every crime can be changed according to the circumstance and motivation has sparked spirited debates. From my point of view, I concur with the latter view that punishments are not fixed.

Admittedly, fixed punishments for different categories of crime may boost the efficiency of judgement. To begin with, the clear and fixed punishments matched certain category of crime may speed up and simplify the process of judgement. To illustrate, the task that police need to do is just to draw the conclusion simply by investigate and categorize the case and punish the criminal according to the fixed rules. Moreover, it seems that this way of judgement is fairer because all criminals in same category will get the same result no matter who he is. Only by considering more general facts, such as the motivation of committing crimes and the circumstance of the crime can judgements be more objective and accurate.

Despite this, simplification and efficiency are not the aim of judgement, but justice. Taking the circumstance of the crime and motivation of the criminal into account when make judgements has brought many benefits. In the first place, considering more general facts, such as the motivation of committing crimes and the circumstance of the crime, can make the judgements more objective and accurate. In the second place, analyzing more factors and information can reduce the number of persons who are judged as criminal wrongly. Last but not least, considering situations and motivations of the crime is more beneficial for realizing fairness and justice to the police department and contemporary society.