Some people believe that universities should focus mainly on providing academic knowledge, while others argue that universities should also prepare students for the workplace.

Many individuals consider that educational institutions should focus on teaching and providing academic skills rather than preparing them for employment. While both views have their own merits, I personally agree with providing college students with occupational-related skills should be prioritized during their studying periods. In the following paragraphs, I will provide my perspectives and reasons why I agree with this.

On one hand, many people argue that universities should actively encourage students to learn academic skills because acquiring academic knowledge is essential for them to have a better future. Many of their parents aspire their kids to learn as much academic knowledge as possible because to them, entering universities is the only ticket to have a successful life. Pursuing high-paid jobs like physicians or dentists require immense amount of academic knowledge. Hence, providing academic knowledge should be prioritized according to these parents’ expectations.

On the other hand, the opponents believe that providing academic skills and knowledge is for sure one of the necessary things that the educational providers should do, but recently the demand for employment from the students has increased dramatically due to lack of practical experiences that is required for their occupations. For example, a graduate student wants to enter a company with high-paid position, but because the lack of practical experiences has let them lose a lot of advantages in that position. Hence, acquiring practical experience should be prioritized in the first place.

In conclusion, although acquiring academic skills is important for college students, the needs for practical experience and skills should not be disregarded during this process. Acquiring both academic skills and practical ones is crucial for the students because having practical experience and skills can help them achieve their goal and facilitate them throughout their occupation.