Some people believe that unpaid community service should be a compulsory part of high school programmes

It has been suggested that hight school students should be involved in unpaid community services as a compulsory part of hight school programmes. Most of the colleges are already providing opportunities to gain work experience, however, these are not compulsory. In my opinion, sending students to work in community services is a good idea as it can provide them with many lots of valuable skills.

Life skills are very important and by doing voluntary work, students can learn how to communicate with others and work in a team but also how to manage their time and improve their organisation skills. Nowadays, unfortunately, teenagers do not have many after-schools activities. After schools clubs are no longer that popular and students mostly go home and sit in front of the TV, browsing the Internet or playing video games.

By giving them compulsory work activities with charitable or community organisations, they will be encouraged to do something more creative. Skills gained through compulsory work will not only be an asset on their CV but also increase their employability. Students will also gain more respect towards work and money as they will realise that it is not that easy to earn them and hopefully will learn to spend them in a more practical way.

In conclusion, I think this is a very good idea, and I hope this programme will be put into action for high schools/colleges shortly.