Some people believe that when designing a building, the most important thing to be considered is the function rather than the outward appearance. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

In modern society, the aesthetic sense has increased among people. There are also some competitions for the best design of buildings. However, some people argue that the function of buildings should be the first priority instead of the outer beauty of that. In this following paragraph, I will discuss my personal view.

On one hand, functional buildings are an important protection in the city. City sometimes may get damaged from the extreme weather, and it causes numerous deaths of humans and animals. In the past, the architectural technology was not as advanced as it is now, the storm destroyed the buildings and led to a collapse, resulting in thousands of deaths. In order to protect people from the extreme weather, the architects consider strength and strong structure as the main factors when they establish a building. If they prioritise the outer beauty in the first place, the buildings probably fail in protecting people because of the weak material and design. Therefore, the function should be firstly considered before they build the facilities up.

On the other hand, an eye-catching appearance can boost the economy. Thanks to digital technology, taking photos is a famous activity among people, especially women. They are willing to visit a cafe which has eye-catching decorations, just in order to take the internal photos. In this process, the stunning outer beauty attracts the potential customers. Also, some of the buildings which have a special and stunning appearance can be the landmarks in the city. In the long run, the tourists come for the landmarks and leads to a growth in the economy.

In conclusion, the appearance is valuable to make a profit for the city. Nevertheless, the functional buildings are more important for the residents because it plays a big role in protecting them. I believe that the safety reasons should be considered before they establish the buildings.