Some people believe that wild animals should not be kept in zoos or other man-made environments as there is no longer a need for them in the 21st century. Do you agree or disagree?

This essay totally agrees that zoos are not suitable places for wild animals, because very often such accommodation of the animals is not justified and can lead to negative consequences such as depression and stereotyped behavior by the animals.

Nowadays, there are a large number of options on how people may protect animals and their environments. As for the zoos, the animals are placed in an artificial environment and they have limited space in cages. These conditions interfere with normal existence and may cause nuisance for wild animals which got used to living in freedom. As a result, it is better to keep the animals in nature reserves, for instance. In these places they have conditions familiar and natural for them, so it would be more comfortable for living.

Besides, zoos are popular places for visitors, who can make noise and cause discomfort for wild species. In this case, the animals may feel tired and oppressed. A good illustration for this is petting zoos where the animals have to contact many people daily. Researchers demonstrate that they often encounter stereotypy. It is a repetition of the same actions for a long time. Such a phenomenon might lead to chronic stress and low life expectancy .

In conclusion, in the modern world where there are a lot of opportunities to keep wild animals in natural ecosystems zoos lose and fade into the background. It is because of many drawbacks of keeping the animals in zoos. So, the animals in the zoo are exposed to stress and low quality of life.