Some people believe that with hard work and determination, people can gain success in life. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

It is argued that diligence and persistence are crucial in determining success. While this notion may be true to a certain extent, other elements, such as financial conditions and external appearance, may contribute more to the chances of becoming successful. Although both schools of thought hold merit, I endorse the latter perspective more.

On the one hand, there are several reasons why determination and hard work are essential drivers of people’s success. Success may come in different shapes or forms, but it primarily requires a person to be a stand-out individual in the work environment. To achieve this, a person must possess a wide range of knowledge and years of working experience. As both journeys leading to multiple failures require intensive endeavor, without a strong will and a determination to work hard, some individuals may give up on the first try, contributing to not achieving success. Let’s take the Olympic athlete as an example: to obtain prestigious achievements and medals, they have to dedicate hours to practice and make a great effort to maintain their discipline. Rigorous training schedules in the long term would assist Olympic athletes in accomplishing their skills, such as having a better comprehension of their body and rhythm and eventually developing the ability to avoid injury incidents and achieve peak performance.

On the other hand, opponents of the previous view advocate that other aspects, such as money and appearance, play a more vital role in assisting people to become successful. Although the ability to make money is present in most channels, such as real estate and stocks, these ventures often require a massive amount of foundational cash, which is unavailable to most people from underprivileged backgrounds. As a result, solid financial conditions can open these opportunities, not only consolidating their status as high-achievers but also granting access to superior education and networking opportunities. Additionally, physical attractiveness can create advantages in this field, as attractive individuals have the ability to attract more attention from others around them. For instance, during a job interview with numerous candidates, attractive appearance people can stand out and be easily remembered by employers, thus increasing their chances of receiving the job.

In conclusion, notwithstanding the mixed opinions on determining whether assiduousness and determination are more fundamental to success, I believe factors such as wealth and physical attractiveness are more integral for achieving success.