Some people believe that young people should choose the jobs that they want, but other people think that they should be more realistic and think more about their future. Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

Many people suggest young people should be allowed to choose their jobs freely in the future. From my perspective, I partially agree with this way of thinking for the following reasons.

Allowing young people to choose their future jobs without restrictions can bring about a beneficial impact on their overall well-being. Research shows that if young people can not do the jobs they want, they will be at a high risk of developing various health problems, such as depression, anxiety disorder, and other mental diseases. For example, the depression rate among young people is significantly higher than among older people. Perhaps, this is partially because today, young people have to choose their jobs in ragard of the salaries they could earn from the jobs, rather than their own initiatives. Therefore, it is necessary for parents to allow their teenagers to freely choose their jobs in the future to lower the risk of aforementioned health issues, therby improving their quality of life.

On the other hand, being permitted to choose jobs in the future freely can have a potential of taking wrong routes for young people. Because young people often lack life experience and social exposure, their choices can be impractical and short-sighted. For example, in Vietnam, many young people are not content with their current jobs, which they chose to pursue of their own accord in the past. This probably is the result of being compulsive and lacking a comprehensive understanding about the jobs they chose. Therfore, parents should give their children appropriate consultancy while still allowing them to pursue their wanted jobs.

In conclusion, that young people are free to choose their future jobs can have a positive influence on their overall well-being, especially their mental health. However, this should go along with appropriate instructions and information from parents and experienced people to prevent young people from choosing jobs that are unmatched to them.