Some people believe that young people should choose the jobs that they want, but other people think that they should be more realistic and think more about their future. Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

Choosing the right job is essential for everyone. Some people think that young people should choose the jobs they want, while others believe that being more realistic and thinking about the future is more important. I believe that both views have valid points, but always striving for dreams yields better results.

On the one hand, the contemporary job market is highly competitive and requires people to be professional and experienced at what they do. These skills can only be acquired through years of learning and practicing. Therefore, young people may need to decide on their future career early on and work very hard to be the best in their field to improve their career prospects. Otherwise, a lack of time to form the skills needed may lead to slower career progression. For instance, many teenagers in my country start preparing for university admission exams only in high school. As a result, they end up getting rejected and doing manual labor. The minority who take the necessary actions early on are accepted into the universities and advance in their future careers using the skills they have acquired.

On the other hand, chasing dreams fosters passion for one’s work. Most scientific breakthroughs and discoveries are usually made by people who work relentlessly to succeed. In most cases, their passion often stems from their childhood dreams, which may eventually come true. For example, Lionel Messi faced a lot of financial and social problems. However, he never gave up on his dreams and eventually became arguably the best football player of all time. Furthermore, I think that people who choose the jobs that they want tend to have more job satisfaction even if they do not make as much money. The sense of contentment can actually outweigh any financial drawbacks in the long run. For these reasons, young people should pursue their dreams.

In conclusion, although today’s job market urges people to be more realistic, chasing dreams and getting satisfaction at work should be a priority for young people. Therefore, I believe they should always choose the jobs they want.