Some people believe that your personality doesn't change over time. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

There are different views about humans’ personality change. While some people think that personality traits don’t shift over time, I maintain that through the growth process, human personality will significantly change.

On the one hand, genetic and biological factors contribute to the stability in individuals’ personalities. Although physical events always develop through the years, most human personalities still remain and maintain until the end of life. Individuals have adopted some temperament features from their parents, even from their grandparents, forming natural elements in their personal characters, and resulting in the difficulty of personality changes. For example, some people who were born with extroverted traits, tend to go out and communicate with others, from young ages until old ages. In contrast, individuals who are introverted, enjoy their life with tranquil lifestyles.

On the other hand, there are two primary factors that lead to the change in personality: life experiences and environmental influences. Firstly, significant life events such as trauma, breaking up, achievement,…, create substantial changes in individuals’ thoughts. For instance, a lot of young people, after a breaking up in a relationship, tend to become more mature, and even some people become isolated and scared with life. secondly, environmental changes such as moving to a new city, shifting jobs,…, forming new personalities for individuals. For example, the movement to new cities of newly-graduated students forms the independent features in their personality because all tasks are handled by themselves without visual support from their family.

In conclusion, while innate elements create the stability in individuals’ personalities, I maintain that experiences and environments play vital factors to the changes of personal traits.