Some people claim that not enough of the waste from homes is recycled.They say that the only way to increase recycling is for government to make it a legal requirement.

One of the biggest environmental problems faced by the world today is waste. Every year, millions of tons of waste are produced from various sectors, including household waste. One way to reduce household waste is recycling. Recycling is the process of reprocessing used materials or goods into new products. However, the amount of household waste that is recycled is still low. Some people argue that legal policies to increase the amount of recycled waste can only be intervened in by the government. I do not completely agree with this statement. Several factors need to be considered so that recycling can be optimal for all groups, and I will explain why in this essay.

On the one hand, the implementation of recycling policies by the government can significantly minimize the amount of household waste. Legal regulations will force people to learn, obey, and apply waste-sorting techniques. Many countries have already implemented this policy, such as Japan and Germany. Japan has regulated it through the Waste Management and Public Cleansing Act and the Home Appliance Recycling Act. Each local government is responsible for maintaining the cleanliness of its area, and citizens are required to separate waste based on certain categories. Germany has also established a waste-management hierarchy through the Kreislaufwirtschaftsgesetz (Circular Economy Act) and the Packaging Act (Verpackungsgesetz), which include prevention, reuse, recycling, energy recovery, and disposal. Each household member must separate household waste into several types of bins. If it is done incorrectly, the waste will not be collected and residents may receive a warning.

However, the statement and policy are less wise if they are applied without considering several factors such as scheduled collection infrastructure, housing space that allows waste separation by category, high public literacy, and an equal system of sanctions. For example, low-income households living in public rental flats and under bridges will automatically have inadequate infrastructure, limited access to recycling facilities, and limited literacy. Therefore, the obligation to separate waste without infrastructure support can turn into an additional administrative burden for vulnerable groups.

In conclusion, in my opinion, it is clear that there are various factors that need to be considered when making a policy. These include the provision of area-based communal infrastructure, a gradual approach (education, facilitation, and law enforcement), financial incentives for vulnerable households, differentiation of obligations according to each household’s capacity, and synergy with community members as well as local officials.