Some people claim that not enough of the waste from homes is recycled.They say that the only way to increase recycling is for government to make it a legal requirement.

There is a view that an inadequate portion of household garbage undergoes recycling procedure. It is, therefore, asserted by some that governments should create a legal obligation in this respect as an effective step. While I feel such laws can alleviate the situation to a certain degree, I wholeheartedly believe that these actions could present burdens to governments’ budgets and cause civil disagreements.

On the one hand, there are undoubted benefits to legalizing mandatory recycling, one of which is linked to environmental factors. That is to say that such laws can not only reduce the damage by waste coming from houses to the surroundings but is also likely to put a limit on using resources, including but not limited to plastics, steel, and paper. Another aspect to worth mentioning is the fact that governments might have a social edge. To illustrate, if the amount of trash on the streets is on the rise, individuals would become more cautious about making their homes waste-free.

These reasons notwithstanding, I am of the view that the legitimation of recycling poses risks to economic conditions. To support this, the approach requires considerable amount of money to enhance recycling greatly and may not be proportional with authority’s needs. In addition, public disagreement should not be ignored. This is mainly because compulsory recycling can cause misunderstanding among citizens, making them opposed to the law.

To conclude, although I think making recycling a legal requirement could minimize the threat to nature and improve social behavior, I adamantly believe that this concept can restrict the government’s economy and represent a public debate.