Some people claim that not enough of the waste from homes is recycled. They say that the only way to increase cycling is for governments to make it a legal requirement. To what extend do you think laws are needed to make people recycle more of their waste.

Some people debate that not enough waste from homes is recycled.In their opinion the only way to increase recycling is for government to make it a law.I agree to this point of view to some extent as it will make it mandatory for everyone to recycle waste but law making isn’t enough.This requires a top-down approach,awareness campaigns and positive policy making.

Firstly,the law making will help in reducing waste by force not by the choice of the citizens.They might oblige to the government laws but it will damage their own free will and it has been proved from the history that force don’t often amount to change as it can cause unrest making people do something they don’t want to do.

Secondly,the government should raise public awareness through electronic and digital media.This approach will be beneficial as it will inform citizens about the benefits of recycling waste rather than imposing rules on them forcefully.From studies it has been found that if a person do something through his own free will its affects are better personally and on the society rather than blind following.Telling people why recycling waste will be helpful for the environment and our planet in a longer run can help them make their own choices effectively.Government can also tell citizens about the procedure for recycling waste so they can make informed choices.

Thirdly, positive policy making can go a long way in ensuring that people recycle waste.For example if government imposes heavy taxes on storing waste it will force public into recycling waste.Furthermore, government can make the trash bins more expensive and recycling bins relatively cheaper.These procedures will help in improving recycling effectively rather than blind law making.

In conclusion one can say that top down approach, awareness campaigns and positive policy making can help to recycle waste among people which effects can be beneficial for our environment and the planet in the future rather than blind law making.