Some people consider that teachers should focus on academics more than motivating students. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

It is argued that some teachers should focus only on academics, rather than motivating student’s personal interests. This essay fully disagree with this proposition, arguing that while academics are important, motivating and embracing students personal interest and talents will allow students to explore their abilities and potentials in life.

It is undeniable that academic plays an integral role for students. Increasing one’s ability to think critically, fostering social skills, and enhancing problem solving skills are some of the advantages of academics. However, teachers should not only focus on academic success as an aspect to classify the intelligence of someone. It is important to consider that life goes beyond academic and focusing on one’s core ability will increase their potential in developing their area of interest. Should student focuses on their own abilities and potentials, for instance in areas of communication, could help them to have a good communication skill in the future. It is therefore crucial for teachers to support, motivate, and foster a learning environment where students could focus on their interes,t developing their ability in a particular aspect.

Moreover, giving the opportunity for students to develop their interest, will allow them to explore many career option and offers the chance to pick their suitable career path. This prevents job burnout in the future, as they will do something that they are passionate. Providing the ability to further deepen their skills and expertise in a particular area of life.

All in all, while academic is important for students, motivating their own interest will bring more advantage to them. Fostering an environment where students can freely explore and deepen their abilities as well as interest, are some of the example where teachers can support students personal interest.