Some people enjoy change in life, while other people try to avoid it. What are the advantages and disadvantages of both approaches?

While some individuals are open to changes in their life, welcoming them with open arms, others view change as something appalling. This essay will suggest that being positive about the changes is favorable because it develops one’s adaptability, but could also lead to unhealthy stress. Moreover, it will demonstrate that acting in a skeptical way towards change could be useful in terms of stability, but might also result in stagnation.

When a person seeks change, they are certain to face difficulties on their way, by overcoming which, they grow to become a more well-rounded member of society. This can be made clear by looking at the lives of successful businessmen. Elon Musk, for example, did not enjoy the fact that humans could not land spacecrafts safely after launching them. Unprecedented as it is, he still managed, through perseverance and the will to make change, to complete this arduous mission after many failures. However, he also admitted that in order to achieve the goal he had to work sixteen hours a day, amassing a great deal of stress in the process, which negatively affected his health. Thus, occasionally the cost of change might be the stress that comes with it.

On the other hand, sometimes avoiding change could have a positive effect on an individual’s life. In case of harsh life situations, particularly having no financial safety net, it is unwise to take a risk and try to pursue a different path to earn more. Therefore, the option to not make any changes will be more advantageous than trying to change the situation. Be that as it may, this approach also bears the risk of feeling stagnant. Progress motivates people to move forward, giving hope to people with disadvantageous circumstances. Without this hope, people might fall into a downward spiral, developing depression over time.

In conclusion, both sides have their pros and cons. Enjoying change might help a person develop their adaptability, which in turn helps them to make bolder decisions and grow. This, however, might also result in too much stress. Steering clear of change can be the better option if there are financial issues present. In this approach, unfortunately, stagnation that leads to depression might follow.