Some people feel that children should be educated in single-sex schools; others argue that mixed schools are better. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

Some people think that schoolchildren ought to be educated in single-sex classrooms. Others believe that coeducation is much better. In this essay, I will examine this question from both points of view and then give my own opinion on the matter.

On the one hand, some people argue that there are clear benefits of single-sex education. The first reason why single-sex education is beneficial is that boys and girls are different in nature. For instance, some literature books that feature strong heroines or books with an emotional story that will resonate more with girls than with boys. The curriculum should be tailored so as to best fit with the needs and characters of each gender. The second benefit is a more relaxed environment. Boys and girls in single-sex schools do not have to worry about making an impression the other gender. Therefore, they can focus better during tutorials and stay clear of unnecessary misconducts. Last but not least, in some countries, single-sex education should be implemented to respect the cultural norms and religious requirements of that particular country.

On the other hand, some think that coeducation has other important purposes for several reasons. The first one is that coeducation gives boys the chance to learn how to behave around the opposite sex at an early age. Teachers will be able to teach boys how to respect women, dismiss gender misconceptions and differentiate between chivalrous and rude manners. Thus, in the future, this may lead to a more balanced society, where women can be treated as equal to men. Another explanation is that boys and girls will gain benefits as they can understand the other gender’s perspectives on various issues. Moreover, mixed schools give every child the chance to be in an environment that mirrors the real world. Hence, they can be more confident in expressing their views in the presence of the opposite sex, developing a positive self-image and working better in groups.

In conclusion, both arguments have their merits. On balance, however, I feel that mixed schools have crucial functions as it will helps students become more well-rounded and successful in the future.