Some people feel that it is always wrong to keep animals in captivity, for instance, in zoos. Other people say that there are benefits for the animals and for humans. Discuss both sides of this debate, and give your personal view.

Zoos continue to be controversial, even now that they have evolved into ‘animal parks’ or similar facilities. Most people love animals, and there are strong views on both sides, which I will discuss now.

People opposed to zoos highlight the unnatural way in which animals live in such places. For example, captive animals do not need to hunt or raise offspring, and this means that they are not living s nature intended. Furthermore, the anti-zoo lobby point out that animals probably suffer mentally hen kept in captivity, even if their surroundings are spacious and similar to the natural habitat. lymptoms of mental issues range from repetitive behaviour to eating disorders, and these are often been in captive animals. Lastly, it is often said that zoos add little to animal conservation, which isb etter served by preserving their habitat.

Conversely, those who support zoos say that in most cases they offer a secure and peaceful etting for animals, for example in high quality wildlife parks or reserves. They add that in many ases, the animals would suffer from loss of habitat or poaching in the wild, and in captivity they are t least safe and able to breed successfully. Finally, zoo enthusiasts feel that zoos and animal parks re part of an integrated system of protecting animals, involving habitat protection, breeding rogrammes and disease control. This all helps to safeguard endangered species and thus preserve the global ecosystem for the future benefit of all life forms.

Overall, I feel that zoos provide a valuable service to society and the animal world, as they help to protect many species. This outweighs their possible disadvantages, as long as they are properly staffed and maintained.