Some people feel that manufacturers and supermarkets have the responsibility to reduce the amount of packaging of goods. While others argue that customers should avoid buying goods with a lot of packaging. Discuss both views and give your opinion. Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

Nowadays, with the development of goods and products, the needs of the packaging is important, too. The packaging show the customer about the goods’s information, it is the advertising, and also some of them are the convenience. However, the packaging release to the environment the millions tons of waste each years. The advent of packaging is cause by the companies that want to pleased their customers. Although, the fault is not only come from the companies. To fix this issue, the customer can shopping in another ways such as avoid buying goods with a lot of packaging or manufacturers and supermarkets need to have the responsibility to reduce the amount of it. Both sides all have the responsibility but their still the conflict between these two options.

On the first hand, the customer should avoid buying goods with a lot of packaging. As mentioned before, this was invent because of the customer needs. If the customer switch to buy the goods have the recyclable, self-decomposition and small packaging, the businesses will automatically reduce and develop their packaging to fit with the customer’s needs.It is a matter of supply and demand. The customer is the key of the issue because the industry is depends on them and their choices can make changes.

On the other hand, manufacturers and supermarkets need to have the responsibility to reduce the amount of packaging. The packaging industry controls the production process and the waste release. The packaging manufacturing can produces toxic gases and heavy metals. This can badly affected the environment such as the ozon layer and the air quality. According to statistics, in 2025 worldwide, the packing manufacturing has released 1.4 billion tons of carbon dioxide and they used 650 to 800 billion cubic meters of water.

The use of detailed packaging is negative and harmful than without packaging or a small amount of it per products.No packaging or small amount cand help to reduce to use of production materials and waste. The suppiers and supermarkets should tighten control over the trade of these goods, ensure that those goods meet the maximum permissible packaging standards.

Overall, in my opinion, both manufacturers and customers have equal responsibility about the packaging issue and both can solve it. Manufacturers can handles it by produce goods with no packaging or small amount of packaging. The customer should consider their shopping choices and avoid buying over-packaging things. In addtion, the government should also has the responsibility by implement a new plolicy or penalties the manufacturers have violation. If we all work together for the better future, we can minimize losses for the environment but still bring benefits to both the industry and the customers.