Some people feel that manufacturers and supermarkets have the responsibility to reduce the amount of packaging of goods. While others argue that customers should avoid buying goods with a lot of packaging. Discuss both views and give your opinion. Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

Opinions are divided on whether producers should be held accountable for reducing quantity of product packaging, some people argue clients must escape purchasing excessive packaging. I personally believe that producers’ responsibility has greater impact on society.

One might argue that manufacturers and supermarkets should be primarily responsible for cut down on packaging waste. This is because they control product design and the materials used for packaging, and they decide how many plastic and paper used it. For example, many companies made by ecological materials, if there are changes, reducing packaging at the production stage would significantly decrease environmental waste. Another reason why producers should be responsible is that environmental laws are mainly imposed on companies rather than individuals. For instance, governments introduce regulations that limit the use of plastic and require companies to adopt recycling materials. This is because manufacturers control the production process and have a financial capacity to implement large-scale changes. Consequently, focusing on producers through legislation can significantly reduce packaging waste.

These arguments notwithstanding, consumers also have played a vital role in reducing excessive packaging if consumers refused to buy products with unnecessary packaging, Companies may be forced to reconsider their packaging strategies. This is because businesses aim to satisfy consumers’ demands in order to make a profit. When environmentally friendly products become more popular, producers can reduce and cope the effects on over-packaging. Therefore, environmental protection is a shared responsibility and the individuals should foster making thoughtful decisions.

In conclusion, even though consumers play a crucial role in waste items, I personally feel manufacturers and the supermarkets must be the primary responsible because they control production and packaging decisions.