Some people feel that the government should regulate the level of violence in films on television and at the cinema. Others feel that violent films should not be regulated. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

Violence regulation in films has always been a noticeable controversy for many years. On one hand, some people feel that the government should regulate the level of violence in films on television and at the cinema. On the other hand, others feel that violent films should not be regulated. Both views have pros and cons that will be discussed in this essay.

To begin with, many things are under control of the governments due to its severe consequences if they are misused, and the same thing can be applied to the amount of violence in movies that the public can see. The main reason for this is that films can encourage or mislead a portion of young people before the age of maturity to act or apply a scene in a movie to their real life. Consequently, movies or videos that contain bloody killing, manslaughter, etc can lead to severe crimes because some may try to mimic the act in the movie or be too obsessed and end up committing disturbing crimes. For example, in many cases the crime investigators find out the perpetrators’ mind was twisted after watching too many violent films resulting in them trying to behave like villains in those movies. The lack of experiences and education, those young people not only destroy other families, fathers, mothers’ happiness but also their own future. Many of these would never happen if the government could limit the amount of violence in films or at least regulate a rule that only eligible ages are allowed to watch those movies.

However, some people believe that films can contain violence without any regulations. Firstly, film is widely perceived as the “Sixth Art” like music, painting etc, and an artist should be able to create their crafts without limitations. There’s a saying that “true art should exist beyond reasons” has further assured this belief. Secondly, just because some people are negatively affected by the amount of bloody scenes in a movie does not mean that it should be restricted. Adults with a fully developed brain are hardly influenced by actions in the movie due to their strong morality and experience which have been accumulated over the years. With that in mind, if those people enjoy lots of violence on screen then they should be able to, because of their rights of liberty. For example, horror movies which often contain a great amount of violence will be labeled at “R18+” or include a warning caption saying that the content is not suitable for underaged viewers. In most cases, this method works extremely well without having to refine the containing violence itself and its applicability can be seen in many countries nowadays.

In conclusion, both sides have their own advantages that should be carefully considered and implemented by the governments. The former can reduce crimes because of warped minds after watching too many bloody scenes, and the latter considers the rights of an “artist” or the fact that a portion of viewers should be able to watch those movies if they enjoy them.