Some people feel that the legal age at which people can marry should be at least 21. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

It is widely accepted that the legal age of marriage is in the early 20s. The general believe is actually supported by science that human in terms of biology and psychology is ready to take marriage as early as 21 years old. But, most of the time. The early 20s is not a perfect time for marriage, because at that age humans are still developing a mature mental ability to take rational decision and still searching for self identity. Marriage is not only a matter of human connection between spouses, but also an economic and finance matter.

Majority of people in their early 20s usually doesn’t have a mature financial management, where most of them are still naive about financial management and freshly graduated from university then taking their first job that typically low wages. There are some research that shows majority of reason for divorce is tied into economic reason. People that prematurely take marriage without proper financial planning and financial honesty, they always take a divorce as a solution because their spouse is not honest with their financial condition.

However, there are some arguments stated that as long as the couples reach puberty, they are accepted to take marriage. Even though their mental state levels are unstable to take a rational decision. These arguments are usually taken from underdeveloped region where the social stigma is still hold on older believes that not supported by science. To reduce this social stigma, We need to educate people that marriage doesn’t have to be as early as puberty hit. Marriage need a proper and mature state of biological, psychological and economical of the couples, so they can commit into more serious relationship and build a new healthy and wealthy family.