Some people feel that the legal age at which people can marry should be at least 21. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

When do people reach maturity? Nowadays, the problem of possible age of marriage is widely discussed. Some people argue that young people cannot make such essential decisions. Accordingly, the legal age for marriage should be at 21. Other people believe that the laws should not restrict human relationships so strongly. I tend to agree with the last point of view. In this essay, I would like to give some arguments to support this opinion.

First of all, from the point of view of biology, the difference between 18 and 21 ages does not exist. At the same time, the age of sexual consent in the vast majority of countries is significantly lower. For instance, in Russia the age of maturity is 18 years old, however, the age of sexual consent is 16. Thus, from the point of view of law, the relationships between people are possible, but at the same time they cannot marry. I believe that increasing the legal age of marriage in this social context has considerable drawbacks. Indeed, marriage guarantees people economic safety. For example, if some married couple break up, they will share their property according to the law. It is crucial for vulnerable women who have children and can not work during the pregnancy and the first years of their infants.

Another important argument against the rise of the legal age of marriage is the human right to be free. While it may be true that young people frequently make wrong decisions about their future because of lack of experience, I believe that people cannot learn to live on their own without mistakes. Thus, they should be free in their choice of partner without any restrictions.

All things considered, I would like to emphasise that there is no need to increase the legal age of marriage. This procedure is necessary to support the long relationships and regulate them.