Some people feel that there is too much emphasis on getting an education, and that the government should spend money on leisure time activities for young people too. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Some people are of the opinion that the government places excessive significance on accessing education, hence it is also imperative for them to allocate financial resources to leisure activities. In my opinion. I strongly agree with this viewpoint.

Of course, one may argue that more focus on enriching the leisure time of the youth can lead to detrimental consequences, one of which is the neglect of core educational purposes. They maintain that equipping youngsters with essential knowledge is the fundamental function of the educational system, while disbursing a huge amount of budget on recreation can detract children from their studies, resulting in less interest in academic subjects and decreased study time. However, this problem can be easily addressed when the government moderates their allocation and schools set up flexible syllabus to incorporate suitable extracurricular activities.

Moreover, investing more in recreational activities for the youth can foster their overall well-being. Today, most educational institutions place great significance on academic subjects, which can put children under pressure as these subjects dominate their schedules. Therefore, the provision of more extracurricular activities can help them release tension and unwind, potentially leading to enhanced academic performance. For instance, by providing financial support for class vacations and expeditions, students not only have more time to boost their mental health but also hone their interpersonal skills, such as teamwork or communication. This, in turn, contributes to a more robust and comprehensive workforce for the future of a country.

In conclusion, I completely agree with more emphasis on enriching leisure time for students as this enhances their mental capacity and also contributes to a holistic future workforce. However, in order to maximize the benefits, it is paramount for the authority to provide an adequate amount and schools to employ effective plans to include these activities without detracting from the pedagogical purpose.