Some people have decided to reduce the number of times they fly every year or to stop flying altogether. Do you think the environmental benefits of this development outweigh the disadvantages for individuals and businesses?

Some individuals believe that reduction in the number of flights can be beneficial for preserving the ecosystem and the environment. I argue that, with today’s governmental policies, these personal desicions have marginal impact on air traffic in general, and this idea can be more harmful to society.

Aircraft, such as airplanes and helicopters use fossil fuels as their main source, which can result in serious air pollution. Therefore, some people decide to decrease the number of flights that they book. Though this choice is rising from a good intention, it cannot be positively effective if the govermental policies do not support it.

On the other hand, people choose alternative forms of transportation for their journeys, which most of them utilize fossil fuels as well. In other words, both of the transportation vehicles use similar fuels and leave negative environmental impact on air, sea, and earth.

Avoiding air travels do not lead in dropping in the number of flights. However, when the number of passengers decrease, the ticket prices will automatically experience a significant rise. For example, in Iran the airline agencies are limited in number, and in less crowded seasons the ticket prices usually go up rapidly, so that they can cover up the expenses.

In conclusion, I think the environmental benefits of this decision cannot outweigh the disadvantages, because alternative form of vehicles use the exact same fuel source. Also the number of passengers has a small impact on the airline operations. I believe, more fundamental policies should be taken into consideration.