Some people like to spend their leisure time with their colleagues, while others prefer to keep their private life separate from their work life. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

As a matter of fact, hardly can one deny the fact that enjoying a quality leisure time from time to time is of immense importance for everyone, especially in the 21st century full of rush and deadlines. While it may be reasonable to assume that unwinding with one’s co-workers after a long working day or even at the weekend could bear fruit and be beneficial for everyone due to certain assumptions, I am personally convinced that, in most cases, it seems to be a more sensible decision to keep one’s distance and separate work affair from one’s entertainment.

Admittedly, these is some truth to be found in the idea that spending a lot of time together, even outside the workplace, may be advantageous for workers. In theory, this could strengthen their relationships and foster their mutual understanding of each other. Additionally, going out together might make people feel that they are one, united and friendly team of like-minded and cheerful people, who will always be there to assist or simply cheer up one another. All in all, hypothetically, having spent a decent amount of time together, work colleagues are likely to get to know their teammates better and start trusting them more, thereby establishing some long-term friendships, which will make their mundane days at work more joyful and, perhaps, even more productive.

However, in spite of all the persuasive arguments outlined above, I deem that, quite frequently, the mentioned activities may have a pernicious effect on a person’s professional career. To elaborate, although being relaxed and cheered up hardly appears to be a negative thing in and of itself, sometimes it is liable to result in one’s being too carefree and unmotivated to leave one’s comfort zone and endeavour to exceed the set targets, aiming for more and more. In other words, very few people are wholeheartedly willing to work under unbearable pressure; still, dealing with a number of tasking in an overly friendly and relaxing atmosphere may well lead to undesirable outcomes as well, particularly in respect of work performance statistics. When all is said and done, in my view, carrying out various responsibilities in the environment that is entirely focused on achieving the agreed goals may be easier and more effective; a certain degree of subordination and a healthy distance may only be of assistance for workers, especially in the long run. Going out socially is very likely to ruin this whole system and the right approaches to work.

Ultimately, I believe I can draw the inescapable conclusion that, although spending their free time with their colleagues might be a great idea for some, I am of the opinion that, more often than not, it will negatively affect people’s performance at work and their career growth.