Some people like to spend their leisure time with their colleagues, while others prefer to keep their private life separate from their work life. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

A number of individuals enjoy spending their free time with collegues after a hard day’s work; in contrast, some will rather choose to keep their work and personal life separate. While I am of the opinion that the latter is a better option than the former, I will be discussing both views and emphasising my opinion in the paragraphs to come.

Many working class individuals spend most of their day at work; mostly interacting with their collegues who they often spend a majority of their time with. Regardless of this fact, many co-workers barely know anything about each other asides the roles they play at work, and their proficiency in doing work related tasks. By taking out time to bond after working hours, co-workers can form interpersonal relationships, and get to know one another on a new level. This can in turn foster teamwork, and make the work front a more interesting and friendly enviroment in the long run. Spending time with workmates outside the office can aslo be a medium for networking for those seeking career advancement.

On the other hand, many will rather keep their presonal lives private. Some of the reasons people might opt for this is, for one, family should always be a priority, so while spending most of the day at work with collegues, every free time should be devoted to maintaining already existing relationships with either a spouse, children, parents or friends alike. Keeping work at work can also help ensure that ones abiity to do his/her job is not questioned as a result of some personal challenges or flaws that would be private if your collegues are not privy to your life outside of work. I truly believe that if one is to create a healthy work-life balance, this is the way to go.

In conclusion, though some have gotten many oppurtunities and maybe formed great relationships with their collegues outside of work, I consider it to be wiser not to mix business and pleasure. Finding a work-life balance, spending time with family, and maintaing a good reputation at work are important and cannot be overemphasized.