Some people prefer to spend their lives doing the same things and avoiding change. Others, however, think that change is always a good thing. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion. Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience. You should write at least 250 words.

Some people find any sort of changes to be extremely stressful, and for that reason they choose to stick to familiar things. However, there are others, who share a different viewpoint, and are always willing to try something new. In this essay, I will delve into this topic and analyse both opinions.

On one hand, as the saying goes – safety is a priority – and what can be safer than stability. The fear of jumping into something new is only natural. The possibility of a failure is too frightening and this concern is rational. For example, a decision to try and follow a new career path, while having multiple years of experience in a different field, can prove itself to be completely fruitless and may provide one with nothing, but a waste of time and loss of money. Moreover, this concept can be extrapolated to things as insignificant as choosing a place to have a dinner. There is always an option to go with a safe choice and get a worthy meal in your favourite place, and a scenario in which you decide to step out of your comfort zone, and at the end you may as well be left with nothing but disappointment.

On the other hand, this state of stagnation can easily lead to anxiety. Locking yourself in familiar surroundings may make it harder to stay flexible and discover previously unknown experiences. Furthermore, depriving oneself of change is a fast track to loosing agency and giving control of your life to others.

To conclude, I tend to lean towards the opinion that change is always a good thing and it is far better to try and fail than not to try and all and live a life with a sorrow of “what if”.