Some people regard video games as harmless fun, or even as a useful educational tool. Others, however, believe that video games are having an adverse effect on the people who play them.

There is a controversial debate on whether video games have positive or negative effects on people who play them. From my perspective, the drawbacks of those online games have more influence on people than what the advantages of them do.

Spending a lot of time playing games instead of indulging in physical activities can be detrimental to a child’s health in several ways. A child’s cognitive development may get affected if he does not get out and socialize in the real world. Constantly sitting in one place and playing video games at length can increase the chance of obesity, weaken the muscles and joints, make hands and fingers numb due to over-exertion, and multiple studies suggest that it can ever weaken the eyesight.

Playing video games directly impacts regions of the brain responsible for memory, spatial orientation, information organizations and fine motor skills. As people age, the importance of playing games tends to increase. It could improve decision-making skills; compared to non-players, gamers who spend the time daily with fast-paced games can react to questions or situations up to 25% faster.

In conclusion, although there are still some good sides of video games, the negative effects they bring play a more significant role that can even damage a person personally and domestically. Limitations of time and budget should pose on players in advance, in case something bad occurs.