Some people regard video games as harmless fun, or even as a useful educational tool. Others, however, believe that video games are having an adverse effect on the people who play them.

Several individuals consider video games to cause no harm or even to contribute to education, while others tend to think that video games might lead to dire consequences. This essay is of the opinion that computerized entertainment may be a treasure trove of educational materials for teachers and students because not only does it engage pupils into learning curve by captivating designs and graphics, but also the diversity of games stimulates students’ memory in various ways.

Firstly, nowadays video games are a great source of the exact same material we see in files or regular books, though it is rendered into way more attractive design by implementing interactive elements. If a student is to choose between a physical spreadsheet or a copybook and an interactive platform with the same programme, they are likely to incline towards the second option. For instance, having worked as a tutor for more than 3 years I can say for sure that learners of all age categories fancy studying material when it has engaging resources and they participate in a class and not just watch my screen when I am sharing it.

Secondly, video games may as well have a stimulating effect on students memory since there are plenty of diverse types of games and all of them affect memorising differently. When one teaches individuals several grammar structures or lexis using the same types of exercises consistently, the students will tend to adjust their memory to this pattern and it does not have any positive effect on how they retain knowledge in the long run. For example, my own statistics demonstrates that the students of mine who had identical tasks thoughout the unit of the book without interactive elements were discombobulated when I gave them an exercise of a different kind, thus they could not recall most of the lexis we had had, while the other students who were given diverse interactive exercises on several platforms such as Wordwall, Bamboozle or Genially, could adapt to the task with no effort and they remembered all the words.

To conclude, this essay believes in video games being a great tool for education since it involves the students in an interactive learning process and provides stimuli for their memory retention while memorising new material.