Some people regard video games as harmless fun, or even as a useful educational tool. Others, however, believe that videos games are having an adverse effect on the people who play them. In your opinion, do the drawbacks of video games outweigh the benefits?

People have different points of view about video games. While a number of people believe that video games are safe and can be both educational and entertaining, others argue that they are affecting game players negatively. In my opinion, the detrimental aspects of video games are more significant than their possible beneficial points.

On one hand, video games can have several benefits. Firstly, they are great tools of entertainment. To be precise, they are enjoyable for players and can give them the opportunity to having fun. Secondly, since video game players are consecutively facing a variety of challenges during playing the game, their imagination and problem-solving skills can be enhanced subtly after a while. Finally, from the educational perspective, video games can assist educational programmes. For example, there are a lot of “Math” video games by which, students can improve their mathematical skills while they are solving funny math problems in the games.

On the other hand, despite all the benefits mentioned, I assert that since the potential positive aspects of video games are outweighed by several important drawbacks, it is a shortsighted view to assume video games as entirely safe and useful. First of all, we should admit video game players are prone to addiction. Nowadays, there a lot of people who cannot even imagine their day without playing some video games. This unpleasant phenomenon leads to some serious issues because the addicted individuals have to sacrifice their important task in order to have more time to play. Furthermore, some kinds of games are extremely terrifying and can leave psychological sequels on some susceptible groups of people like children. For example, children may experience horrible nightmares or bed-wetting as a result of playing video games which are full of horror actions. Considering the fundamental negative outcomes, it seems to be that drawbacks are more prominent.

In conclusion, while there are different opinions about potential benefits and adverse effects of video games, I argue that to probable negative consequences of playing video games can dominant the positive aspects mentioned.