Some people regard video games as harmless fun, or even as a useful educational tool. Others, however, believe that videos games are having an adverse effect on the people who play them. In your opinion, do the drawbacks of video games outweigh the benefits?

There have been some rather contentious views on whether video games have a negative effect on players or if they, on the contrary, provide players with an immense number of benefits. Although there are some potential disadvantages to playing video games, I strongly align myself with the viewpoint that video games bring enormous benefits if played responsibly.

On the one hand, it is apparent that video games are entertaining and educational, thus helping players to relieve stress, boost their energy levels and develop their skills. In video games, players are transported into virtual worlds where fictional characters are made incredibly attractive and real. This makes players feel the excitement of being a heroic character or a professional athlete. From an educational perspective, some strategy games such as “League of Legends”, “Diablo” encourage communication, imagination, logical thinking and problem solving, all of which are practical skills outside a gaming context.

Having said that though, video games definitely come with some potential risks if one plays them without limitations. First and foremost, since games are designed to be fun and relaxing, many people may easily become addicted to them, especially students. As a result, their performance deteriorates and falls behind their peers at school or at work. Moreover, computer screens that people look at while playing games constantly release blue light which is proved to cause vision problems as well as other health issues.

In conclusion, while there are still some drawbacks that users should be aware of, the perks of video games are undeniable. If people know how to play them in a responsible way, they can significantly benefit from the entertainment, cognitive development that video games offer.