Some people said ageing population is a problem for governments other people think it will be advantages if there are more elder people

In recent years, it has indeed become increasingly common for many individuals to live longer more than ever. The majority of people believe that aging population creates issues for governments and society. However, there are advantages if society has extra elderly people. While acknowledging the potential benefits of this, I’m convinced that its disadvantages are considerable outweigh any positive outcomes.

On the one hand, having more elderly people in society is associated with considerable advantages. If the aging population increases, the country can develop more quickly, as the majority of people try to develop new ideas, and their actions may help us live a modern lifestyle. As a consequence, this can lead to economic growth and greater social stability. Another advantage is that elderly people have more experience than young people, which is why they help and teach new things to the younger generation. In addition, elderly individuals can preserve cultural heritage, as they have knowledge of rich architectural heritage and historic monuments. Had it not been elderly people, young generation would have faced problems. A case in point is my home country, Uzbekistan, where aging population has been increasing in recent decades.

In addition, there are several disadvantages associated with an increasing aging population, which can negatively affect the government. One major drawback is that it can both put pressure on health care systems and slow down economic development. In recent decades, an increasing number of people have faced chronic illnesses, which increases demand for medical care. Consequently, the quality of healthcare services may worsen. In a nutshell, while growing elderly population is important, nothing beats planning to ensure the quality of healthcare and social supports remains high. This situation is particularly detrimental for certain type social services.

Overall, although there are certain advantages to the increasing elderly population, I believe that the disadvantages are more significant. While a growing elderly population may provide some benefits, the negative consequences outweigh the positive aspects.